Recognising excellence and rewarding achievements in the dairy sector

Share this page

IDF awards

Every year, dairy champions are honoured for their leadership, dedication, and commitment to the sector. Whether it’s being creative, offering high-level strategic and technical advice, or helping the IDF to communicate more effectively with the wider dairy sector, each of these winners has played a key role in ensuring the interests of the industry remain centre stage. Their commitment to the global sector is resolute and is deeply appreciated.

IDF Award

The prestigious IDF Award is given in recognition of remarkable contributions to global dairy.

First presented in 1998, the IDF Award recognizes remarkable contributions to progress in dairying worldwide. It is awarded on the basis of submissions by IDF members, the IDF National Committees.

About the award

The IDF Award has the form of a piece of art and a medallion with an inscription.

By granting the Award, the IDF wishes to pay tribute to extensive contribution to dairy science, adding to the scientific knowledge about the benefits of dairy foods.

All past recipients of the IDF Award

  • Helen Dornom (AU)
  • Jean-François Boudier (FR)
  • Dr. Robin Condron (AU)
  • Pavel Jelen (CA), Phil Kelly (IE) and Kevin Marshall (NZ)
  • No recipient
  • Mohamed El-Hossieny Abd El-Salam (EG)
  • Roger Abrahamsen (NO)
  • George Davey (AU)
  • Suk-Jin Cho (KR)
  • Manuela Juárez (ES)
  • Walther Heeschen (DE)
  • Ylva Ardö (SE)
  • Peter Parodi (AU)
  • Shuichi Kaminogawa (JP)
  • Donald Muir (GB)
  • Lawrence Kenneth Creamer (NZ) and Pierpaolo Resmini (IT)
  • Pieter Walstra (NL)
  • Patrick F. Fox (IE)
  • Robert R. Sellars (US) and Zdenko Puhan (CH)
  • Douglas B. Emmons (CA)
  • Ernest J. Mann (GB)
  • Jean-Louis Maubois (FR)

IDF Prize of Excellence

The IDF Prize of Excellence is given in recognition of an outstanding recent contribution to the Work Programme of IDF.
The Prize honours an individual or group of individuals, who contribute as volunteers from among the grassroots of IDF, to the IDF Programme of Work in accordance with IDF’s purpose and following the five key concepts constituting SWIFT as a driver for the development of IDF.

These concepts are:

  • Speed
  • Worldwide visibility
  • Impact
  • Focus
  • Transparency

These ensure that the organization continues to deliver timely outcomes that meet expectations and the changing needs of IDF membership.

In 2020, the IDF Prize of Excellence was awarded to IDF SCFA Action Team on Alignment of food additives between Codex dairy standards and the Codex General Standard for Food Additives Keith Johnston, members Michael Hickey, Christian Kastrup, Jackie Crichton, Nick Gardner, Yoshinori Komatsu, Allen Sayler, Aurelie Dubois, Osamu Suganuma, Clement Benoist and Peter Wolfs.

Winners of the IDF Prize of Excellence to date

  • Erica Hocking (UK)
  • Keith Johnston (NZ), Michael Hickey (IE) , Christian Kastrup (DK), Jackie Crichton (CA), Nick Gardner (US), Yoshinori Komatsu (JP), Allen Sayler (US), Aurelie Dubois (IDF staff), Osamu Suganuma (JP), Clement Benoist (FR) and Peter Wolfs (NL)
  • Cary Frye (US)
  • Jaap Evers (NZ)
  • Keith Johnston (NZ)
  • Sandra Casani (DK)
  • Jointly Michel Hickey (IE) and Claus Heggum (DK)
  • PG-AMC-C13 – Milk and milk products– Determination of nitrogen content – Part 1: Kjeldahl principle and crude protein calculation. Dr. Dave Barbano (US), Richard Johnson (NZ), Dr. Silvia Orlandini (IT)
  • George Psathas (CY), Juan Romero (US) and Odd Rønningen (NO)

Yves Boutonnat International Milk Promotion Trophy

The annual IMP Trophy competition was initiated in 1989 by the IMP Group.

It is a means of showcasing, to dairy farming and industry delegates attending the annual IDF World Dairy Summit, the best generic advertising campaigns created recently amongst the group in the key areas of innovation, nutri-marketing, and marketing communication. In honour of one of their founding members, Yves Boutonnat, it is now called the Yves Boutonnat International Milk Promotion Trophy.

Entries are submitted to the IMP Group mid-year meeting where they are subject to peer-review, analysis and judging. The top 3 are selected to present their campaign and the winner is elected by secret ballot. The winner is considered the best in promoting the nutritional benefits and the healthy image and lifestyle of dairy foods.

Previous winners of the IMP Yves Boutonnat Award

  • CNIEL France: #Fromagissons initiative
  • UK Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB): “The department of dairy-related scrumptious affairs”. The award is a means of showcasing the best generic advertising campaigns.
  • The European Milk Forum (EMF): ‘Milk Moments’ campaign.
  • Norwegian Dairy Council: One nutrient, hundred communication possibilities
  • Ireland: Promoting dairy for teenage healthy living
  • South Africa: Consumer Education Program of Milk SA
  • Dairy Australia: Changing our image – it is what we make it”
  • United States of America: Refuel with Chocolate Milk to Win the Race for Milk Sales
  • Norwegian Dairy Council: ‘No mornings without breakfast – no breakfast without milk’
  • Dairy Management Inc.: DMI (US) for the ‘Would You Like Milk With That?’ campaign